Tanner Kibble Denton Architects

5 Martin Place

Gadigal Country / Sydney

A landmark in Martin Place, the former Head Office of the Commonwealth Bank is one of Sydney’s most recognisable early 20th century buildings. A major revitalisation project undertaken in association with JPW Architects re-establishes the importance of the celebrated ‘Money Box’ building (1916). The design programme is anchored in the cultural values of the building, established by a Conservation Management Plan prepared by TKD Architects. Unsympathetic alterations were reversed revealing the building’s original interiors while new works and services are sympathetically integrated. The central lightwell has been reinstated as a light-filled atrium bringing natural light into the Banking Chamber.


Brett Boardman


ASI Steel Excellence Award for Large Building Projects
Australian Steel Institute NSW, Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design
AIA NSW Lloyd Rees Award for Urban Design
AIA NSW Chapter Awards 2016, Commercial Architecture Award
National Trust of Australia NSW, Award for Adaptive Reuse
AIA National Award, Heritage Architecture Winner
AIA National Award, Commercial Architecture Winner
UNESCO Asia Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation, Award of Merit